Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Yemen Can’t Wait: How to End the War and Humanitarian Catastrophe in Yemen

Thu April 21, 2022 @ 7:30 pm EDT

Yemen Can't Wait

What You Can Do to End the Terrible War and Humanitarian Catastrophe in Yemen

Yemen’s civil war is now in its eighth year, with the terrible humanitarian catastrophe continuing – hundreds of thousands of people killed, wounded, sick from preventable diseases, or displaced – despite the current, fragile ceasefire during Ramadan. The Biden Administration’s declaration last year that it would not sell offensive weapons to the Saudi-UAE-led coalition was insufficient to end the war, so we must do more to end all US military support fueling the conflict. Please join us, and help spread the word, to learn about the situation in Yemen and what we can, and must, do to end this tragedy.

Speakers:

Bobby Puckett

Chief of Staff @U.S. Representative Peter DeFazio (D-OR)

 

 

Mary Anne Mercer

Board Member @Yemen Relief and Reconstruction Foundation

 

 

 

Hassan El-Tayyab

Legislative Director for Middle East Policy @Friends Committee on National Legislation

 

 

 

Kawthar AbdullahKawthar Abdullah
Lead Organizer in NY @Yemeni Alliance Committee

 

Register

Thursday, April 21 at 7:30 pm eastern time/6:30 pm central/5:30 mountain/4:30 pacific time. Organized by Peace Action and Friends Committee on National Legislation. 

Details

Date:
Thu April 21, 2022
Time:
7:30 pm EDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:

Organizers

Peace Action
Friends Committee on National Legislation

Venue

Online Event