Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Make 2021 the Year to End the Blockade of Cuba

Sat November 14, 2020 @ 2:00 pm - Sun November 15, 2020 @ 4:00 pm EST

Cuba Weekend

Friday, November 13th Online Concert Cuban – US – Canadian artists open weekend of online actions.             8 pm EST/5 pm PST
Twitch.TV/NNOCuba

Nov 14 – 15 registration:
https://bit.ly/34ZZVoC

Saturday, November 14th
Session 1 ~ 2:00 pm Eastern/11:00 am Pacific
After the U.S. Elections: For Normalization! Why We Must End the Blockade on Cuba!
José Ramón Cabañas — Cuba’s Ambassador to the United States
Josefina Vidal — Cuba’s Ambassador to Canada. Lead negotiator in talks with Barack Obama Administration leading to reestablishment of US-Cuba diplomatic relations
Nikki Ashton — is the New Democratic Party Member of Parliament for the federal electoral district of Churchill—Keewatinook Aski in Manitoba, Canada. She is outspoken advocate against the blockade.

Session 2 ~ 7:00 pm Eastern /4:00 pm Pacific
Saving Lives Campaign — Bringing Cuba’s Example to the U.S. and Canada During the Global Pandemic
Dr. Samira Addrey – graduate of ELAM and program coordinator for the ELAM scholarship program
Dr. Andy Coates – Physician in Albany NY on frontline of treating COVID-19 patients
Alicia Jrapko – Co-chair of the Cuba Nobel Prize Committee

Sunday, November 15th – Closing Session
2 pm Eastern/11 am Pacific/7 pm UK/8 pm South Africa
Pedro Luis Pedroso Cuesta — Permanent Ambassador of Cuba to the United Nations
Fernando Gonzalez Llort — President of the Cuban Institute of Friendship with the Peoples (ICAP); Cuban internationalist fighter in Angola 1987-1989; Cuban Five hero
Broadening Cuba solidarity:
Tamara Hansen — Coordinator, Vancouver Communities in Solidarity With Cuba and Executive member of the Canadian Network on Cuba (CNC)
Gabriel Prawl — President, A. Philip Randolph Institute, Seattle Chapter. Leading organizer of an unprecedented work stoppage of ILWU members up and down the West Coast in solidarity with Black Lives Matter against police murder and brutality.
Aislinn Pulley — Black Lives Matter, Chicago
Brenda Lopez — Co-coordinator, Los Angeles, US Hands Off Cuba Committee. Participant, Recent Cubambiente International Conference in Havana.
Travel to Cuba
Mayra Alonso – from Marazul Tours
Juanita Palacios-Sims – Cuban-American, Co-owner, Beyond Cuba Travel

Details

Start:
Sat November 14, 2020 @ 2:00 pm EST
End:
Sun November 15, 2020 @ 4:00 pm EST
Event Tags:
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/397224128132644/

Venue

Online Event